“Challenging” behaviour – my targets for myself

I’m at the end of the first half term of my third year of teaching. If you asked me in my NQT year, I would have thought by this point my behaviour management would be excellent. I know now that everyone struggles with behaviour to some extent, but over the past few weeks some of my lessons have been so heavily disrupted by off-task and rude students that some nights I can’t sleep because of the worry that I’m letting people down.

 

Yesterday I talked it over with my other half, who reminded me of the attitude that I had in my NQT year and should have now. The challenges are part of the job and I just need to be proactive about overcoming them, not get depressed simply because they exist. Consequently, on Saturday I wrote a to-do list on Evernote regarding how to improve the behaviour for learning in Monday’s lessons, which I’ve listed below. Saturday night I slept much better. Sunday I worked through the list. Monday…

 
…it’s a work in progress. Importantly though, I feel like I’m doing something about the situation. Hopefully that means I’m doing my job.
 
  • Email a teacher that has the same class to organise a time when I can observe their lesson and see what works in other subjects 
  • Call home for students whose behaviour and effort have been less than satisfactory and inform parents
  • Call home for students that have exceeded expectations in terms of effort (there are a few)
  • Email the AST at my school to organise a meeting where I can discuss the problems and ask for advice
  • Plan some more interesting activities in lessons, even if just setting aside 15mins for Science Key Word Taboo or Pictionary
  • Differentiate down for more activities, to make the learning more accessible, build confidence, and reduce off-task behaviour that results from work being too hard.
  • Book a time to check their books every week, to allow me to reward good effort more often and follow up on inadequate effort. 
  • More regularly choose some ‘Student Learning Monitors’ – responsible students that peer-assess progress.
  • Identify students doing well (e.g. from learning monitors) and write positive notes in planners
  • Design new seating plan
  • Plan significant plenaries for every lesson and stick to it – include a review of behaviour/effort in each one
  • Plan to show off good work/progress in plenaries too.
Leave a Reply

